Spring Break, you were lovely

It’s a Friday night, but unfortunately both Brett & I are under the weather.  Hopefully Saturday is much better for us wild & crazy kids, but I thought I’d take this time to recap (if you will) my Spring Break.

First off, let me just say Spring Break is soooooo much sweeter as a teacher than as a student.  Why, you ask? Well, other than the much-deserved time off it’s nice to (technically) get paid for Spring Break thanks to being on salary.  Can I get an “Amen?”

But the big thing is I get to be just me. I loved what Emily’s mom said to me this week, “So you get to be Lacey and not Miss G for  a few days.” TOTALLY.

Sooo in no particular order here’s what Spring Break 2011 has brought for me the past couple of weeks (wish I had more pictures but my parents took my their camera with them on a trip) (But a camera might be on the registry) (HINT):

  • Friends! With fixing up a house and first year teaching, I don’t have much free time.  So I have taken full advantage by visiting with friends and eating too much and sleeping in and have SO enjoyed it (maybe a little too much).  It’s been fun being acting like a college kid again and just hanging out on campus for a couple of days. Did  you know college is so much more fun when there are no classes you have to go to?A post will be devoted to her later, but Emily is rad and can make anything fun.  Watching baseball, tennis (did you know that the alley doesn’t count in singles? Me neither) (And I totally took tennis lessons the summer of 7th grade), going to BCM, and receiving lots of hugs and “What are you doing here?!” greetings was super great. You know who you are to those of you who it was extra great to see at CU this week.  Plus, I snuck in a lunch with my newly-engaged Erika! And of course, spending any time with Brett makes me a very happy girl.  I had fun watching baseball games WITH him, even if I know deep-down he wishes he were out there.
  • Worked on the house– Again, a post will come soon with updates we’ve done to the house since we bought it, but Brett & I put in a full day this past weekend and cleaned the inside top to bottom, worked outside, he painted the guest bath, and much more.  This includes spending SEVENTY something dollars and cents on (are you ready) lightbulbs and knobs. LIGHTBULBS AND KNOBS.  But the buy 1, get 1 Sonic burger and homemade (thank you) Velveta mac & cheese for dinner helped. Just ask Brett.
  • Registered! Brett & I also completed our registry at Target and then later Sears. Target went pretty smoothly (although I totally didn’t freaked out when the battery appeared to have suddenly died after TWO HOURS roaming and scanning the aisles at Target and we didn’t think it saved. But crisis adverted! We were golden).  Sears had some great things too, but don’t get us started on the process there. A bless-his-heart-older-man employee approached us as we were trying to scan the push mower for the THIRTY-EIGHTH time and said, “How are you folks doing today?” And I, with my Christian attitude, said “Doing great other than I’m ABOUT TO THROW THIS THING OUT THE WINDOW.”

There were other things too, of course.  My Mom teaches in the same county, so we have the same breaks and I always enjoy spending time with her- around home, shopping, and delivering food to friends recovering (I do love that about her).  Thanks for the Oatmeal Raisin at Panera, mama.

Oh, and I bought “THE DRESS.” I have to admit, I was pretty excited when I found it (on a whim- by myself- which was probably the best for my sanity).  It’s simple, perfect for the beach, and (most important to me) COMFORTABLE.  You will totally see me rocking it throughout the summer.  Ain’t no shame in my game.

While break was wonderful, I am excited to get back to school.  I’m blessed to be in a career I love, at a school I love, with people I love.  Plus, I sure do miss my favorite second graders (but sooo not that 5:40 alarm clock).

If you made it this far, I salute you. I feel like you earned it.  Hopefully, I keep the blogging up once school cranks ups again, if solely for my sake.  It’s kind of therapeutic. I’m my own Dr. Phil.

That did not sound right at all.

Chao!

Leave a Reply

