Letter to me

Most of you are probably familiar with Brad Paisley’s “Letter to Me.”  It’s still one of my favorites of his and everytime I hear it, I think about what my own would be like.  So… here’s a letter to my 16 year old self (not near as creative as Mr. Paisley, but that’s why I’m not paid the big bucks).

Dear Lace,

First off, do not sweat that paper for AP US History.  You won’t do so hot on the AP Exam, but you’ll make so many fun memories from that class that it doesn’t matter anyway (by the way, that class will be harder than the actual History classes in college, so quit stressing out).  Thank Ms. Davenport for challenging you so much… you’ll learn what a great (albeit… different) teacher she is.

You’re starting to really think about what you want to do and despite your ambitions, being the first female head football coach of the University of Alabama is just not looking…. good. (By the way, the coach ‘Bama hires in a few years will turn the whole program around and you won’t have to take the abuse of UT winning each year much longer! And Fulmer GOES AWAY!)  Teaching is really where you’ve always wanted to be… really pay attention in the Service Learning class  you take in Mom’s Kindergarten classroom next year and your eyes will be opened to whether or not it’s the career for you (Hint: it is).

So this Brett fella  is in your Honors Algebra II class.  You are one of the only juniors in there because Math just isn’t your thing, and I know he likes to remind you of it.  A LOT. He drives you crazy, right? But I promise you two will get to be the best of friends to the shock of both of you by the end of senior year.  He’ll be there when you’re upset, celebrate with you when you’re happy, and let’s just say you won’t be able to imagine your life without him.   I won’t go into many more details because the ride you two will have is well worth it and I don’t want to spoil it (but he’ll still sometimes drive you crazy). :)

Don’t sweat the college decision… I know MTSU is where you think you’re going and you don’t want to, but God will work out the perfect place for you. In fact, it’ll be where you always wanted around here.  And the friends you make there? It’s true- you meet your best friends (with the exception of one or two) in college.

A few more helpful tidbits: Mom and Dad are usually (ok, just about always) right.  Don’t speed on that super-tempting 5 lane part of Lebanon Road.  Seek God in everything you do.  Pray and read the Bible every single day.  Thank your good teachers.  I wish you would start loving running in high school… it’ll make the next few years a lot easier on yourself.

Enjoy the rest of high school and being a kid (yes, you are one no matter what you think)… Brad Paisley said it best…

Let me end by saying have no fear, these are nowhere near the best years of your life.

Two things: 1. I really was that skinny and thought to myself, "Eeesh, I don't look so skinny" back then?" 2. I used to rock a colorful belt. That needs to come back (or maybe stay in time on the last day of Sophomore Year).


~ Lace

Leave a Reply

