Relieved, confident, exhuasted

Let me start by saying I have not been a very good blogger.  It may have a teeny tiny bit to do that my days are pretty packed lately.   All good and great things for the most part, but still I gotta PENCIL THINGS IN, ya know? And blogging is not one of them (however, rest-assured that staring at thank you cards hoping that intentional glaring will cause print to be written on the cards is on the agenda).

I’ll keep you posted on how that works out.

The loot. Can you say BLESSED?

Anyhoo, we do have quite the number of thank-you cards to write in the next few days and we couldn’t be more (for lack of a better word) thankful.  Our Bridal Wedding Household Shower was this past Sunday, and MY OH MY. I am not too often speechless (See: first paragraph about the INABILITY TO WRITE), but we were just amazed at the love shown to both of us.  Sweet ladies at our church hosted the party for us and it was perfect for our beach wedding theme.  We had friends from years ago, new friends, family, teachers along the way, and other mighty fine folks.  We received so many beautiful things for our house (our kitchen is just about complete)! People outdid themselves.  Not to get all after-school-special, but the best memory will be all the hugs, sweet words and love shown to us.  We soaked it all in since our wedding will be just close family.   James Taylor knows what I mean.

School is also winding down (and speeding up it feels like).  I think there is 21 more school days… which is bonkers. We are going to continue to work and learn those 21 days, but I know we’ll make some fun memories along the way.  I remember thinking to myself in July that if I made it to Fall Break, I’d be stoked… well Christmas Break, Snow Days, Spring Break and now we’re almost at the finish line!

At the inservice I went to the other night for first year teachers, he asked us to summarize in 3 words our feelings about our first year ending.  While I was tempted to put “I need chocolate,” I thought some more and put…

Relieved – I’ve loved it, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say I’m relieved.  I don’t care how good you think you are, all those “What if” questions pop up the night before the first day (and I’m sure they will in August again). What if they don’t understand my teaching? What if I can’t control their behavior? What if, what if, what if.  Those still pop in every now and then and I’m sure will continue, but I’m happy to say I taught my very own class and they have even learned a thing or two along the way. ;)

Confident – I didn’t mean this in as, “Welp. I am now the best teacher ever.” No, no, noooooooo. Just confident that I can do this job and do it the best I can.  I’m confident I’ll do better next year in several aspects.  I’m confident that these kids will do great things in life.  I teach my students to be confident in everything they do, so I might as well practice what I preach (and sometimes I do give a sermon)!

Exhuasted –  The other night at dinner:
Brett- “It looks like you’ve been beaten up.”
Me- “What?”
Brett- “Your circles under your eyes.”
Me-“Thanks.”
Brett- “Cute circles though!”
(Nice save).

Again, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t exhausted.  I sure am. Between first year teaching and first year home ownership, and first and only year of engagement, I am tired.  It’s a good exhausted though, knowing I’ve worked hard all day for those sweet kiddos.  21 days.  I know those with kids are reading this going, “Oh. Child. Your 6 hours of uninterrupted sleep would be BLISS.”

Uncle Jesse, sing it out:

Leave a Reply

