You Wouldn’t Get It Unless You Get It

Today I went to work in my houndstooth dress, crimson cardigan, and a Bama bracelet.  (I would have also mentioned my Bama watch, but that’s a daily STAPLE in my wardrobe).

Since there is no shame in my game, I also wore this exact outfit to church yesterday morning. Nine times out of ten, this is my routine for my clothing decision-making on those come-too-soon Monday mornings.

My rationale is as follows on this practice:

  1. I wear my church outfit approximately 3 to 4 hours on Sunday morning. Since there’s not much dancing going on during church (I am a Southern Baptist after all), I really don’t work up a sweat. Thus, there are several more hours left on this outfit’s expiration date.
  2. Let’s just be honest here, Monday mornings are terrible. Even when you enjoy your job, which I do the majority of the time. So, the less brain cells I have to use when combining clothing on those groggy (AND DARK) mornings, the better.
  3. After you make this decision, you have to fully embrace it. I go to church with a couple of colleagues and after some initial embarrassement, we opened our feelings and angels sang. (It was very much a, “OH… YOU DO TOO?! I THINK I LOVE YOU!” moment). Now when we see each other, we make note of one another’s outfit so we are sure to see the same the next morning. Accountability partners are so important in life. And fashion.
  4. In the (rare) case I wear heels or a form of hosiery to church, this is all null and void. That ain’t happenin’ when I teach with lots of little people who are VERY MOBILE. And like to spill things.

Now that I am completely off the subject, I will try to remember how I got on the topic of clothing.

Oh yes. The crimson. And the houndstooth.

Image

I was born and raised an Alabama fan. I went to ‘Bama games as a kid (don’t ask me about the dropped nachos in the aisle of Bryant-Denny Stadium in the 90s. I try to block that from my memory). When we weren’t there, we had big family shindigs. I had about 12 different shakers. Double the amount of t-shirts.  Bama hairbows, scrunchies, jewelry, and yes, an Alabama Santa hat.  I knew about “The Bear” before I knew about most presidents.  Later, while in college, I gave a speech about Bear Bryant.

(I may have known that my speech professor was a graduate of the University of Alabama and thus, would quite like my topic even if I mumbled the entire thing).

(I made a 100).

(Roll Tide).

Alabama football was a big part of my childhood and I loved every little bit of it. I remember growing up, friends would ask me, “Why do you root against YOUR OWN STATE?” I actually still get this. As an eight year old, my answer was always, “Because we like CRIMSON BETTER THAN ORANGE.” And while that is not entirely the reason, have you looked at the bright UT orange lately?!

No, the actual reason is before my time.  My Dad (and his Dad) grew up loving and respecting Bear Bryant and after some family members went to Alabama, it was all history.  I really had no choice in the matter.

I have had friends since I was in elementary school not quite understand why I, and so many of my friends- Bama brethren or not, are so passionate about SEC football.  My answer, no matter how many times I try to explain it a different way, always boils down to this: you wouldn’t get it unless you get it.

That was my answer during my junior year of high school. One of my best friends at the time was having a birthday dinner downtown. I had to be at her house by a certain time since they had reservations. However, it was the FOURTH QUARTER of the Bama/UT game with about 3 minutes left and it was a nail-biter.  My friend didn’t really understand my dilemma. So I had a big decision: go to the dinner with a bunch of friends or stay and see three minutes of a game that ultimately has no impact on my life?

You can guess what my decision was.

For the record, UT won.

It’s still a dark day, but I still don’t regret it…  you wouldn’t get it unless you get it.

Growing up, Alabama football was (for the most part) awful. Sure, we had some big wins here and there, but it was pretty much the polar opposite of what it is now, with the exception of what I like to call “the good years.” (Also known as The Shaun Alexander years). I got ribbed every October about how great the Vols were and when we lost for seven years in a row, I felt the “pain” worse on Monday mornings than on Saturdays because I was going to hear it from my Vol friends.

Now the tables have turned and I get to do the ribbing… and I gotta say, it is not overrated (like Notre Dame is… heeeeey-o!).  I know one, sad, Saban-less day, my UT friends will get to rag on me again… and here’s the thing, I will totally embrace it (with my head held in shame) (At least I can safely say we didn’t lose to Dooley).

Don’t get me wrong, I dread the day when it’s my turn to hear it and see it again… but I LOVE the passion of college football fans, even that of my Vols, Tigers, and Gators friends. I love the trash-talking that starts in January when every season starts over and everything that comes with it.  Because I TOTALLY GET IT. We may disagree on teams, but I get it.

So fair warning, when my Bama-loving husband (thank you Lord) and I receive a wedding invitation in the Fall, we will check the Alabama schedule before RSVP’ing (unless you’re family… then we will call you and ask you what were you thinking scheduling a fall wedding).

And when your friends (ahem…. us) buy a huge pumpkin and choose to carve the following:

Image

Or you know, show up to work in professional attire that just so happens to be your team colors the Monday following a big win against “YOUR OWN STATE!”…

You wouldn— 

Oh, you already know.

Roll Tide!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

