We Need a Little Christmas (Break)

Let me get this out of the way first.

Happy 12-12-12! There. I have documented it for my grandchildren to see.

(The confidence that I have that my blog will still be here in 50 years is slightly more than I have for the Titans to have a winning season again by then).

Seems like I was just talking about all things turkey, and now we’re all things tinsel. Other than the present all of us teachers wish we could return, germs (you thought I was going to say a coffee mug didn’t you. For shame!), it has been a merry Christmas season.

I celebrated with my many of my teacher friends last night. It was fun being ourselves and not in teacher-mode. And let’s just say, the jokes will always stay in that clubhouse’s walls.

And our church had its Christmas program this past Sunday night, and it was every bit of FABULOUS. I posted a video or two on the Youtube.

My favorite:

So, it’s no secret that Christmas music is one of my favorites.  And being a list person, I thought it’d be fun to rank my Top Ten Christmas tunes.

Full disclosure: With the first cool breeze that comes in September, my Christmas playlist gets added in the rotation.  Now, I don’t listen to it nonstop, but I definitely jingle all the way as I’m cleaning the house.

However, as of November 1st (I know, blasphemy to all you traditionalists), it’s guilt-free listening.

Honorable Mention: The Snowbird Theme

All teachers (and students) are saying Amen in unison at this very moment.

But have no fear, I’ve made my list and checked it twice:

10. Marshmellow World

I just heard this song last year, when Mandy Barnett released her Christmas CD. LOVE the whimsical..ness.

9.  Tender, Tennessee Christmas

Although, I’m gonna be honest, I’m getting over these tender Tennessee Christmases (and winters) of RAIN. I know there’s more snow up in Colorado, but can a Southern gal get a LITTLE?

8. Mele Kalikimaka

If it won’t snow, there’s no reason for the cold. Take me to the beach!

7. Please Come Home for Christmas

Chalk this up for my Dad. He passed down the love for the Eagles opening, Bells will be ringingggg….

6. Christmas in Dixie

Pretty much, if you mention the South and Christmas, there’s no escaping my Top Ten.

5. White Christmas

Because it’s what we all want.  And it’s one of my childhood soundtracks to Christmas, due to my continuous play of Home Alone as a kid (which led to my family repeating the following line anytime we had some coins laying around, Keep the change, ya filthy animal).

4. Joy to the World (only a la The Preacher’s Wife)

If this song doesn’t get you dancing in your pew, on your couch, or (ahem) swaying with the broom while cleaning the house (who would do that), then I need to see if your heart is three sizes too small.

3. Mary, Did you Know?

Love thinking of Mary’s perspective… she’s one of my favorite people from the Bible. I wonder what she really knew.

2. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays

Is it bad that I debated internally about this and my number one choice a little too long? Look, it mentions the reason for the season (God sends you His love) and other than Jesus, my favorite part of Christmas break (Everybody’s playing ’cause school’s out).  Plus, DUH, N’Sync. This is obviously the new Christmas standard.

1. O Holy Night

It puts the season in perspective for me every time. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him, will have everlasting life.

I feel like I’m leaving out only 30 or 40 of my favorites. Which song is yours?

Merry Christmas from me to you!

Leave a Reply

